Right Livelihood Awards Announced: System Change is Not Only Possible, But Necessary

System Change is Not Only Possible, But Necessary

In a concerted effort  to honor four people/organizations making a difference in the world by taking action, The Right Livelihood Awards will be held on November, 2022.  At the media briefing held on September 28 in Stockholm, Sweden, Ole von Uexkull, Executive Director of Right Livelihood, said:

“It is not human nature that is the underlying problem (to the crises we are dealing with ) but it is the way we have chosen to build our societies and we are convinced that we could build societies very differently.”

2022 Right Livelihood Laureates lead the way on changing broken systems

Recipients of the 2022 Right Livelihood Award show that systems change is not only possible but outright necessary in the face of failing governance and the breakdown of international order.

Hailing from Somalia, Ukraine, Venezuela and Uganda, the 2022 Laureates have each created new models for human and societal interactions that challenge the status quo. With crises stemming from authoritarian governance, international aggression, profit-seeking economic systems and political inertia to take action against a planetary climate breakdown, these change-makers have imagined a better world and work tirelessly to make it a reality.

“The 2022 Right Livelihood Laureates are grassroots actors dedicated to strengthening their communities. In the face of failing governance and a breakdown of order – including wars, terrorism, extractivism, massive displacement and economic crises – they have established new, human-centric systems. Their successes demonstrate how we can build societies on the principles of justice rather than exploitation,”Ole von Uexkull said.

Founded in 1980, the Right Livelihood Award honours and supports courageous people solving global problems. The award comes with long-term support to highlight and expand Laureates’ work.

In 2022, 175 nominees from 77 countries were considered. Previous Laureates include Edward Snowden (United States of America), Dr Denis Mukwege (Democratic Republic of Congo) and Greta Thunberg (Sweden).

The 2022 Laureates will be honoured during a televised Award Presentation in Stockholm on Wednesday, November 30.

Fartuun Adan and Ilwad Elman  (Somalia)

Oleksandra Matviichuk / Center for Civil Liberties (CCL) (Ukraine)

Cecosesola (Venezuela)

Africa Institute for Energy Governance (AFIEGO)  (Uganda)